Arthur Conan Doyle (1859 – 1930)

Sir Arthur Ignatius Conan Doyle was born in may 22, 1859 in Edinburgh. He received his primary education at the Jesuit school, and in 1876 he entered the medical Department of the University of Edinburgh.

After graduation, Conan Doyle began a private medical practice in Portsmouth.

In the late 80 of the XIX century for the sake of entertainment, he wrote the first detective stories about the detective-fan Sherlock Holmes, which caused the sudden interest readers. In 1891, Conan Doyle made the final decision to become a professional writer and moved to London.

Stories about a detective from Baker street were incredibly popular, many even considered Holmes a real person. The author received a huge number of letters addressed to the detective. Fear of becoming a “writer character”, in 1893, Conan Doyle “killed” his character, which caused an uproar among the public. In 1902, due to material difficulties, he had to “resurrect” the detective, and new stories about Holmes continued to appear until 1927.

Conan Doyle also wrote many historical and fantastic stories and novels (“Exiles”, 1893; “The Lost World”, 1912, etc.).

In search of new experiences, he at different times sailed to the shores of Greenland and Africa, hunted whales and crocodiles, was part of a multi-month expedition to Egypt. In 1899-1902, already being a famous writer, as a regimental doctor participated in the Anglo-Boer war.

The death of his son in the First world war, the experiences of the fate of his father, who died in the house for the insane, deeply shocked the writer. Breaking with the previous literary environment, in 1917, he publicly renounced Catholicism.

Later became a member of the occult society “Golden dawn”, the President of British College of occult Sciences, has created a fundamental “History of spiritualism”; the end of life led a number of English and international occult organizations.

He died on July 7, 1930 in Crowborough.


Sherlock Holmes

  • A Study in Scarlet (1887) Read now
  • The Sign of Four (1890) Read now
  • The Hound of the Baskervilles (1902) Read now
  • The Valley of Fear (1915) Read now
  • The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (1892) Read now
  • The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (1894) Read now
  • The Return of Sherlock Holmes (1905) Read now
  • His Last Bow (1917) Read now
  • The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes (1927) Read now

Professor Challenger

Other Fiction

  • A Duet with an Occasional Chorus (1899) Read now
  • Beyond the City Read now
  • The Doings of Raffles Haw (1892) Read now
  • The Mystery of Cloomber (1888) Read now
  • The Parish Magazine (1930) Read now
  • The Stark Munro Letters (1895) Read now
  • The Tragedy of the Korosko (1898) Read now
  • The Dreamers (1928)
  • The Field Bazaar (1934)
  • Strange Studies from Life (1901)